Contentment, Inspiration

Better Than Revenge

You know what I’ve learned is the best revenge to give someone who has done me wrong and isn’t sorry or repentant? Living a life filled with gratitude and joy. That’s not to say that I pretend my pain and the wrongs that were done to me didn’t exist or happen. No. It just means rising above that by not seeking retaliation. Repaying someone with vengeance. Rather than being swallowed up by consuming poison of bitterness and anger, a better way is counting my blessings and enjoying my life. It inspires people, plus it breaks me free from the chains of bitterness, obsession, and resentment. Which only gives more power to the ones who wronged us. Feeding their satisfaction in causing harm and feeling powerful in doing so. Pity on those people so tainted by evil and filth.

Now if I’m honest, I’ve done similar when I’ve retaliated to pay someone back for the offense and hurt they’ve caused. It just brought me down to their level. I didn’t feel more powerful or better afterwards. Instead, I felt trapped in a prison of darkness. Tormented by my painful and vengeful thoughts. Of “losing” a battle that’s impossible to win as I gave them this thrill of dominance and satisfaction of living rent-free in my head. I learned my lesson the hard way that no amount of guilt tripping, shame, and retaliation will change a person and make me “even the score”.

“Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” -Romans 12:17-19

Playing fire with fire only ends up with you getting burned and in worse condition than where you started. It’s okay to be hurt or angry at being mistreated. Abuse of any kind is always wrong and should never be justified, tolerated, or diminished. And in some cases, should be reported to authorities to stop the vicious cycle. But don’t allow anger and hurt cause you to miss opportunities to learn, grow, and develop every day. So that one day, you can look back on your life as you get older and be proud of yourself. It’s not an easy journey, but it’s a commendable one. One that is brave, humbling, wild, and freeing!

Leave a comment